Happy (Belated) Father’s Day

This blog has had zero hits for three days in a row now, an unprecedented record for a site with such wide circulation.  To update you on why this blog hasn’t been updated in a week (and possibly why nobody has read it in this time, although I may be flattering myself if I attribute lack of readership simply to lack of content.  All I’m saying is, coincidence does not equal causality), here is what I have been doing:

Playing:

  • Dwarf Fortress
  • Spore
  • The Sims

Watching:

  • Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark (for the first time)
  • Up (I’m waiting to comment on it here until I see the 3D version, hopefully sometime within the next two weeks)

Reading:

I’m technically reading Shogun at the moment, but I’m having some trouble getting into it, after a science fiction spree of Orson Scott Card’s Speaker for the Dead and Neal Stephenson’s Snow Crash, permeated by the geek-gasm inducing The Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz, and various miscellaneous comics.  I’ve been listening to the stellar-but-not-God’s-gift-to-humanity-like-all-the-critics-seem-to-think-it-is Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends (and if you don’t know who that’s by, it’s Coldplay, and you need to either get out more, or teach us how you escaped the shackles of the entertainment industry.  Please, enlighten us!) and the far-far-less-than-stellar-and-disappointing-but-still-somehow-garnering-good-reviews-despite-being-lyrically-on-the-level-of-an-artsy-fourteen-year-old-striving-desperately-to-cling-to-some-inevitable-revolution-that-is-both-improbable-and-unnecessary, Green Day’s “rock opera” (their words, not mine) 21st Century Breakdown.  It’s about two young people apparently exploring the ruins of post-Bush America or something.

So maybe I’ll get around to talking about some of those things at some point this week.  For now, yesterday was Father’s Day, and I have a shiny new iPod on the way (thanks mom, dad, Mary, Krystal, Anna, Scott, Sam, Allegra, Suzy and anybody else who contributed!).  I apologize for wasting the past few minutes of your life.  I hope you were multitasking, because you can never get that time back.

Leave a comment

Filed under Misc.

Leave a Reply

